This is my first post. I can't believe I am posting before my blog looks all pretty, but I had to get some stuff off my chest. This is more therapeutic for me than anything else at this point.
My 11 yr. old daughter plays competitive softball. She has for a year now. It is a huge commitment for her and the entire family. (me, my husband, and sons that are 16 and 14) The season pretty much runs year round with just a couple of months off during the year. 2-3 practices a week, tournaments Friday - Sunday. HUGE COMMITMENT. I have said since she started this how lucky we were to have a great group of girls and parents. There has been minimal drama in the past year. That all changed this weekend.....
The girls were not playing well. We are a top seeded team at every tournament we play at, but they were all "off" this weekend. My daughter especially. We were playing Sunday and she did what the coach told her as far as base running, but then made a game losing mistake. She ran into the girl with the ball. She was OUT! Game over. In her defense, it was a cluster where she was running and she didn't know the girl had the ball. She was absolutely inconsolable. Sobbing hysterically because of this out. One of the mothers proceeded to get up and go to the dugout and complain very loudly that my daughter had no business running bases because she didn't know how to run?! She had no business being on the team even. She was calling my daughter out very loudly and pointing at her which made her even more hysterical. The woman's father had to pull her away from the dugout to diffuse the situation because I was standing less than 5 feet away with my jaw dropped. I will fast forward this story to not bore you, but let me say that my daughter cried herself to sleep last night - 4 hours after the game was over. It took every ounce of self control to not confront this mother. Instead, I am letting the coach handle it. Now, the mother is posting all these stupid cryptic message on FB about this situation.
Someone please tell me.....why do parents do this to kids? We should be building them up with positive reinforcement! Let the coaches handle their skills. While we are at it....why do we put our families thru this? Sports that take over our lives, sometimes crazy parents, sometimes rotten kids, the politics of it all?
I would love to hear your opinions on this! Answer my poll at the right or leave me a comment. I promise to get this blog looking prettier in the days to come. Thanks for visiting!
What have I figured out? I have learned that my family is THE most important people in my life. I KNOW the politics of these sports are not worth it. It is great that the kids have a physical activity they love, but the price we pay sometimes is too much. Now....I need to figure out what to do about all of this.
No comments:
Post a Comment